10-man Bengaluru ride on Sunil Chhetri, Roy Krishna goals to edge past Jamshedpur

  • Bengaluru FC- 2 (Chhetri 23’, Roy Krishna 56’) Jamshedpur FC – 1 (Rishi 61’)

Kolkata, Wednesday, August 17, 2022: A 10-man Bengaluru FC (BFC) edged past a young Jamshedpur FC (JFC) 2 – 1 in a Group A match of the 131st IndianOil Durand Cup, here at the Kishore Bharathi Kirangan in the southern part of the city. Captain and talisman Sunil Chhetri opened the scoring for the Blues early in the first half, with Roy Krishna doubling the lead on a Sunil assist, in the second. Substitute Rishi pulled one back for JFC from a free-kick, the result of a rash tackle by Blues defender Hira Mondal, which made referee Rahul Gupta give him the marching orders- a first for the tournament.

Free flowing first half

Bengaluru started swiftly, creating a scoring opportunity which was scuffed by Danish Farooq, from a cut back from the left wing by Leon Augustine. The latter was impressive in the match along the left flank along with Udanta Singh on the other wing.

Sunil then opened the scoring for Bengaluru in the 23rd minute with a forceful header of a corner from new signing Prabir Das. Soon after JFC had a golden opportunity to equalize which was wasted by Lenin Singh, who was excellent throughout the game in the middle of the park. Vinil Poojary also came close to equalizing in the 33rd minute from a corner.

Bruno Ramires and Suresh Singh controlled the midfield for Bengaluru providing constant passes to the frontline.

The combination everyone was waiting for

The crowd were waiting for the combination of Sunil Chhetri and star forward Roy Krishna who had signed for BFC from ATK Mohun Bagan at the end of last season. The spectators did not have to wait for too long as both of them combined excellently to score Bengaluru’s second goal in the 56th minute.

Then came Hira’s sending off and the JFC pull-back from the resultant free kick after a beautiful dead ball assist by Vikash Singh. After the goal Jamshedpur tried to put Bengaluru under pressure but the defense stood firm, assisted by some crucial saves from custodian Gurpreet Singh Sandhu.

Next games of BFC and JFC

Bengaluru will play Indian Air Force next on August 23rd while Jamshedpur play their next match against Mohammaden SC on Sunday.

Ticket Information

India’s leading entertainment destination BookMyShow has been roped in as exclusive ticketing partners for the 131st IndianOil Durand Cup.

Fans can book their tickets to all the league stage games of the tournament exclusively on

In addition, Box Office services have already been made operational for fans in respective host cities.

The details are as follows:

For Group Stage Games



17th August onwards , 10 am – 5pm

Apart from this, match tickets for the three home teams in Kolkata will be sold and redeemed from respective clubs and stadiums concerned with the respective matches from Matchday -2

Guwahati ongoing

12th August onwards

SAI Box office, Paltan Bazar 10 am – 5pm

Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium Gate – 1 Box office

10am – 5pm

Imphal ongoing

13th August onwards

Khuman Lampak Stadium

Gate – 1 & Gate – 2 Box Offices

Tentative timing – 8:30 am – 4:00pm (To be confirmed)

Above Box Offices will be operational throughout the Group Stage matches of respective cities.

Ticket prices
Guwahati – Rs 50, 100, 250

Imphal- Rs 50, 100, 300

Kolkata – Rs 50, 100, (200 only for VYBK)

BOX OFFICE will be dealing with Online redemption and Offline cash Sale

Broadcast & Live-stream details

Sports18 is available on the following service providers:

DTH Service

SD Channel #

HD Channel #

Tata Play


Airtel Digital





Sun Direct



Voot is available to download for free on all mobile app stores and on Connected TVs.

About Durand Cup

A symbol of India’s football history and culture, the Durand Cup is Asia’s oldest and the world’s third oldest football tournament. Organized by the Indian Armed Forces, the Durand Cup has been the breeding ground for India’s best footballing talent, over the years.

The inaugural edition happened in Shimla in 1888, when it started off as an Army Cup, open only to the British Indian Army troops in India, but soon opened up to civilian teams. Named after its founder, Sir Mortimer Durand, Foreign Secretary of British India from 1884 to 189

he iconic tournament reached its 130th edition in 2021. Mohun Bagan and East Bengal have been the most successful teams, winning the tournament 16 times each.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
scroll to top